This year the Number Theory Down Under meeting will be at La Trobe University (Bendigo Campus) from 29th September to 2nd October.

Workshop Program and Abstracts

Here is the NTDU5-Program modulo last minute changes.  You can download title and abstracts of talks here Abstracts.

All the talk on Friday–Sunday are in the room (Business Building, Bendigo-Locality-Map) B1.30 and on Monday in the room B2.32. The rooms are equipped with a projector and several whiteboards.


Please register for the conference at this link  Registration link.  If you would like to give a talk then send your expression of interest to the conference organiser, Mumtaz Hussain at m.hussain@latrobe.edu.au.

The main aim for the NTDU meetings is not only to promote number theory in Australia but also to bring together domestic and international number theorists to share ideas and to pursue collaborative work. The general focus of the workshop will be on open problems in number theory; any area of number theory is a fair game, as are connections to other fields of mathematics.

Tentative list of Speakers/Participants:

  1. Dzmitry Badziahin (Sydney)
  2. Philip Bos (Sydney)
  3. James Borger (ANU)
  4. Richard Brent (Newcastle)
  5. Grant Cairns (La Trobe)
  6. Zhengyu Chen (Keio)
  7. YoungJu Choie (POSTECH)
  8. Shaun Cooper (Massey)
  9. Rob Corless (Western Ontario)
  10. Brendan Cruetz (Canterbury)
  11. Daniel Delbourgo (Waikato)
  12. Karl Dilcher (Dalhousie)
  13. Christophe Doche (Macquarie)
  14. Alexander Dunn (Illinois)
  15. Sasha Fish (Sydney)
  16. Peter Forrester (Melbourne)
  17. Steven Galbraith (Auckland)
  18. Hamish Gilmore (Waikato)
  19. Randell Heyman (UNSW)
  20. Danesh Jogia(Defence)
  21. Hidenori Katsurada (Muroran)
  22. Byoung Du Kim (Victoria)
  23. Dong Han Kim (Dongguk)
  24. Chris King (Waikato)
  25. Min Lee (Melbourne)
  26. Christopher Lenard (La Trobe)
  27. Jingbo Liu (Hong Kong)
  28. Maike Massierer (UNSW)
  29. Terry Mills (Deakin/La Trobe)
  30. Judy-anne Osborn (Newcastle)
  31. Alina Ostafe (UNSW)
  32. Gopal Krishna Panda (NIT, Orissa, India)
  33. Prasanta Kumar Ray (Sambalpur, India)
  34. Arnab Saha (ANU)
  35. Min Sha (Macquarie)
  36. Igor Shparlinski (UNSW)
  37. Nicole Sutherland (Sydney)
  38. Tim Trudgian (UNSW)
  39. Cindy Tsang (Tsinghua, China)
  40. Yinan Zhang (ANU)
  41. Lee Zhao (UNSW)
  42. Ana Zumalacarregui (UNSW)

A complete list of speakers and participants will be available here soon.


The conference is supported by La Trobe University and Australian Department of Defence.


La Trobe University (Bendigo) is easily accessible via train or driving from Melbourne. If you are coming from Melbourne airport then the easiest option will be to catch Bendigo shuttle bus operated by Bendigo Airport Service . From Melbourne airport to Bendigo it normally takes nearly 2 hours. A train leaves every hour from Southern Cross Station to Bendigo.



There are several accommodation options that are available in Bendigo. The accommodation options in close proximity (min 3km) to conference venue  include

Bendigo is Victoria’s fourth largest city and is a vibrant contemporary regional centre. The city has a rich and prosperous heritage dating back to the days when gold was discovered in the area in the 1850s, leaving a legacy of stunning Victorian architecture and manicured gardens. Modern-day visitors to Bendigo can sample the stunning contemporary cuisine in historic buildings, admire modern art and feature exhibitions in venues new and old, and explore the city’s fascinating history at museums, gardens and galleries.

Lots more information to follow






NTDU5–2017 (Bendigo) at one Tree Hill

NTD5–2017 (Bendigo)

IMG_1642 copy

NTDU2016, Newcastle